VC PAAU Bags Fellowship Of Society For Peace Studies And Practice

By Our Reporter

The Society for Peace Studies and Practice, an umbrella body of peace scholars and practitioners worldwide, has conferred Fellowship Award on the Vice-Chancellor of Prince Abubakar Audu University, Anyigba, Professor Marietu Ohunene Tenuche.

At the 16th International Conference and Annual General Meeting of the Society held at the Nigerian Army Resource Centre, Abuja, the body described Professor Tenuche as worthy of its fellowship due to her contributions to peace and exemplary leadership.

The Board of Trustees of SPSP under the chairmanship of the immediate past Executive Secretary of Tertiary Education Trust Fund, Professor Suleiman E. Bogoro, which conferred the award also said Professor Tenuche deserved its fellowship for the promotion of peace and security in Nigeria at large.

ALSO READ THIS:  BREAKING: Tinubu Suspends EFCC Chair, Bawa

Professor Tenuche in a response, gave glory to God almighty for giving her the grace contribute her quota to the development of society as acknowledged by the Society for Peace Studies and Practice.

She also appreciated the body for the award and promised to continue to be in the vanguard of the advancement of peace and security of the society.

Other 2022 fellowship awardees of the Society along with Professor Tenuche include Professor Kayode Adebowale (Vice-Chancellor, University of Ibadan), Maj. Gen. Garba Wahab (rtd, Director General, Nigerian Army Resource Centre), Professor Usman Tar (Dean, Faculty of Social Sciencs, Nigerian Defence Academy), Otunba Moses Alake Adeyemo (former Deputy Governor of Oyo State), Maj. Gen. K. I Mukhtar and Maj. J.G.K Myam.

ALSO READ THIS:  Dr. Ramatu Aliyu Congratulates Etsu Nupe On His 71th Birthday

The Society also conferred Special Awards on Gen. Abdulrahman Damazzau (as Icon of Democracy), Professor Attahiru Jega (as Icon of Peace), Professor Uba Abdalla Adamu (Distinguished Peace Award) and Bishop Hassan Mathew Kukah (as Icon of Peace).

The conferment ceremony was attended by a distinguished academic and former Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Professor Attahiru Jega, a former Chief of Army Staff and Minister of Interior, Lt. Gen. Abdulrahman Damazzau, the Vice-Chancellor of of the University of Ibadan, Professor Kayode Adebowale, amongst others.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Call Us Now!